Modeselektor announce new EP and share track with Blixa Bargeld

Modeselektor’s new album Extended is out since last Friday. The mixtape consists of 27 new tracks and is the source of many more things to come. First there was the film Work (available to watch here) and now we are happy to announce the EP Mean Friend, based on the track Mean from Extended.

The title track is a manic, synth-fueled gallop and there are some alternative versions, some of them were created with the help of an illustrious group of guests. Komm adds the distinctive voice and haunting lyrics of Blixa Bargeld (Einstürzende Neubauten), turning the track into a hypnotic haunted house ride. Check out the track here. The sludgy post-punk of Brush Your Teeth Mean Friend features the angular bass riffs of Shellac’s Bob Weston alongside the rapid-fire drumming of Sepultura co-founder Iggor Cavalera.

Two more versions were created by Modeselektor themselves and they show different approaches. Un Amigo Malo taps the brakes, transforming the song into a woozy, quasi-hip-hop cut, while the booming Mean Boyfriend trims the fat and ups the volume, leaving behind a chest-rattling drum workout.

On the remix front, Modeselektor have lined up a veritable murderers’ row, with Detroit electro don DJ Stingray, Bristol noiseniks Giant Swan and experimental explorer Telefon Tel Aviv all putting their own stamp on Mean Friend.

While the digital release holds all eight tracks, the vinyl release is split into Vol. 1 and Vol. 2. Pre-Orders are open now and here comes the full tracklisting:

Vinyl Vol. 1:

A1 – Mean Friend

A2 – Mean Boyfriend

B1 – Komm feat. Blixa Bargeld

B2 – Mean Friend (DJ Stingray Remix)

Vinyl Vol. 2:

A1 – Mean Friend (Giant Swan Remix)

A2 – Brush Your Teeth Mean Friend feat. Bob Weston & Iggor Cavalera

B1 – Mean Friend (Telefon Tel Aviv Remix)

B2 – Un Amigo Malo

Digital Release:

1. Komm feat. Blixa Bargeld

2. Un Amigo Malo

3. Mean Friend

4. Mean Boyfriend

5. Mean Friend (Telefon Tel Aviv Remix)

6. Mean Friend (DJ Stingray Remix)

7. Mean Friend (Giant Swan Remix)

8. Brush Your Teeth Mean Friend feat. Bob Weston & Iggor Cavalera


Pic: Birgit Kaulfuss