Moderat – Essential Mix on BBC Radio 1

This weekend, Moderat pretty much left their stamp across release schedules.

On Friday 17 March, the major traffic started, while ending the wait for the release of their remix album EVEN MORE D4TA, a project featuring 11 other producers (Batu, DJ Lag, Logic1000 & Big Ever, Marie Davidson, SHERELLE, Sylvere, The Bug, yeule & Kin Leonn and ZULI) that was being prepared while the band was on tour in 2022. All these producers were encouraged to deconstruct the songs and actively expand upon the album’s original soundworld. EVEN MORE D4TA is the idiosyncratic end result.

Right after, during the first two hours of Saturday 18 March, it was on BBC Radio 1 that Moderat extended the euphoria of the release by unveiling their Essential Mix. A true institution for 30 years – presented by Pete Tong – this weekly radio show has seen the return of Moderat in top form after 7 years. If one spontaneously tuned into BBC Radio 1 between midnight and 2AM, they could potentially hear several tracks from the project released the day before, but also from MORE D4TA, the trio’s latest project after a six year hiatus. “Comparison is not reason” wrote Raymond Queneau, the two projects work together, they iempower and complete each other.

All 120 minutes of their Essential Mix are quite a journey, balancing the depths of underground club music, pop culture and cult electronic classics with unique agility.

Listen now to the replay of Moderat’s Essential Mix.

Moderat – Fast Land
Bomb The bass – Shake It
J-Hope – Intro
Pavel Milyakow – Choirs
Overmono – Is U
Swoose – Breathe
Future Sound Of London – Cascade (Shortform)
Archy Marshall – The Sea Liner MK1
Galya Bisengalieva – Kantubek (Moor Mother Remix)
Moderat – NUMB BELL
FLUME – Why 1.3 (2012 Export Wav)
Björk – The Anchor Song (Black Dog Mix)
Kim Gordon – Paprika Pony
Toxe – Honey Island
Nazar – Airstrike (feat. Shannen SP)
Kelly Lee Owens – Moebius
Moderat – FAST LAND (The Bug’s G36 Mix)
Emma DJ – Caresse Antillaise
Emma DJ – Ferg
Diluvio – Exus
Moderat – COPY COPY (Logic1000 & Big Ever Remix)
Yuush – Same Same
Vril – terraformink
Marcel Dettmann – Selective Dissolution
3 Phaz – Sharayet
Mobbs – Rook
Brodinski & Modulaw – Airhorns
Rrose – In The Place Of Matter
Lutto Lento – Pond (live)
Malibu – Camargue
Smerz – You See
Felicita – Soft Power
Speaker music – Amerikkka’s Bay (feat. Maia Sanaa)
Cotton mouth – FDD+F
Nikita Zabelin – Остановка осень облако
Moderat – UNDO REDO (ZULI Remix)
Moderat – UNDO REDO
Basic Channel – Phylyps Track
XXXTentacion – Guardian Angel (excerpt)
Evita Manji  – One Up Too High
Amnesia Scanner & Bill Kouligas – Lexachast I
The Maghreban – Baby
Novelist & Mumdance – ! Sec
Cassius Select – Fish Tek
XXXTentacion – Guardian Angel
Carrier – Lazy Mechanics
Oli XL – Cartoon Smile
Modeselektor – Extended Chords (Excerpt)
J.G. Biberkopf – Age Of Aquarius
Moderat – Neon Rats (SHERELLE’s Sleepless In Philadelphia Remix)

© Pictures – Maria Hermann