Listen to “EXTLP” now!

Back in April, Modeselektor released Extended, a mixtape consisting entirely of their own brand-new material. And how was it received? “We got asked quite a lot if full-length versions of the tracks existed,” says the Berlin duo. As it turns out, full-length versions did exist, and most of them were actually completed before the Extended mixtape. 15 full-length versions were selected for the release of EXTLP, now available on all digital streaming services and CD – double-vinyl and a limited Edition Box Set are scheduled for release on December 17. Find your favorite streaming/download service and buy CD or pre-order vinyl/Box Set here.

Work on EXTLP begann in 2019 and it is very much rooted in bombastic rave sounds, but there’s much more to this romp than barreling techno and neck-snapping breakbeats. Across its 15 tracks, Modeselektor tear through mutant crunk distortions, glitchy dub meditations, neon synth-pop and more, occasionally taking time to salute one of their favorite festivals (with Bangface) or pay tribute to lost friends (with Ohm, a tribute to Andrew Weatherall). Throughout it all, Bronsert and Szary remain at the helm, but they rarely act alone, as EXTLP also features a star-studded slate of guests from around the globe, including veteran dub vocalist Paul St. Hilaire (Movement), sharp-tongued UK rapper Flohio (Social Distancing), avant-pop rulebreaker Catnapp (Dating is in China) and legendary Einstürzende Neubauten frontman Blixa Bargeld (Komm).

Arriving on the heels of Extended mixtape — and the three EPs that immediately followed it — EXTLP is the final piece of what might be the most prolific period of Modeselektor’s entire career. The album is being released in digital, CD and double vinyl formats, and for those seeking an even deeper dive into Modeselektor’s unique sound world, the LP is also part of a box set that includes two additional vinyl releases: Missed Opportunities, which includes 10 unreleased tracks that didn’t make it onto Extended, and Extended Chords, a mix of ambient/drone tracks that also didn’t appear on the mixtape. The box set is limited to 300 copies worldwide, comes in a hand-numbered box, and will only be available through the Monkeytown-Webshop and Bandcamp-page.

EXTLP – Tracklisting:

  1. Tacken (EXTLP Version)
  2. Hyendo Dancehall (EXTLP Version)
  3. Social Distancing feat. FLOHIO
  4. Keller (EXTLP Version)
  5. Bangface (EXTLP Version)
  6. Dating is in China feat. Catnapp (Speed Dating Version)
  7. Ohm (EXTLP Version)
  8. Puls (EXTLP Version)
  9. Komm feat. Blixa Bargeld (Long Version)
  10. Movement feat. Paul St. Hilaire (EXTLP Version)
  11. Kupfer (EXTLP Version)
  12. Cthulhu Drums (EXTLP Version)
  13. Sekt um 12 (EXTLP Version)
  14. Klangkrieg (EXTLP Version)
  15. Bilbao (EXTLP Version)

Bild: Birgit Kaulfuß


* Prices including VAT., plus postage